Collierville High School

CHS has 11 National Merit Semifinalists and 12 Commended Scholars
Classes

Course Description

 

This course is an introduction to basic stage techniques, theatre terminology, and Western theatre history.  The students will explore and experience how to use their bodies, faces, and voices to create emotions, characters, and to interact with other actors through theater games, vocal and physical exercises, improvisation, and pantomime.  Students will use skills such as observation, sensory and emotional recall, and use of voice and body to create characters in a stage setting.  The students will learn and explore the major people, events, and conventions of various periods of Western theatre history.  The students will also explore script writing for the theatre.

Recent Posts

Week of September 18, 2017

Monday, September 18
     Rehearse Children's Musical
 
Tuesday, September 19
     Chapter 9 TEST
 
Wednesday, September 20
     Rehearse Children's Musical
 
Thursday, September 21
     Rehearse Children's Musical
 
Friday, September 22
     Final rehearsal of Children's Musical

Week of September 11, 2017

Monday, September 11
     Begin work on children's musical project
 
Tuesday, September 12
     Chapter 9 termonology
 
Wednesday, September 13
     Continue discussion of Chapter 9
 
Thursday, September 14
     Finish discussion of Chapter 9
 
Friday, September 15
     NO SCHOOL

Week of September 4, 2017

Monday, September 4
     LABOR DAY - NO SCHOOL
 
Tuesday, September 5
     Children's Play Performance
 
Wednesday, September 6
     Children's Play Performance
 
Thursday, September 7
      Children's Play Performance
 
Friday, September 8
 

Week of August 28, 2017

 Monday, August 28
     Present staged readings of Children's Plays
     Class critiques of children's plays
 
Tuesday,  August 29
     Rehearsal of Children's Plays
 
Wednesday, August 30
     Rehearsal of Children's Plays
 
Thursday, August 31
     Rehearsal of Children's Plays
 
Friday, September 1
     Final Rehearsal of Children's Plays
 

Week of August 21, 2017

 Monday, August 21
     Eclipse Day
 
Tuesday, August 22
     Children's Story scripts due
     Begin blocking of children's stories
 
Wednesday, August 23
     Continue blocking of children's stories
 
Thursday, August 24
     Continue blocking of children's stories
 
Friday, August 25
     Finish blocking of children's stories

Week of August 14, 2017

 Monday, August 14
     Complete Chapter 8 discussion
 
Tuesday, August 15
     Chapter 8 review
 
Wednesday, August 16
     CHAPTER 8 TEST
 
Thursday, August 17
     Children's Books due in class
     Begin group work on children's play
 
Friday, August 18
     Continue group work on adapting children's play script