Collierville seniors named National Merit Semifinalists

The National Merit Scholarship Program announced this week that six students from Collierville High School have been named semifinalists for 2016. Congratulations to the following:
Jackson Bentley
Joey He
Sean Kirwan
Vance Hudson
Sneha Mittal 
Morgan Steffey

These CHS seniors are among about 16,000 semifinalists named as part of the annual academic competition. The students, who were selected based on scores on a PSAT qualifying test, will compete for more than 7,000 scholarships worth more than $32 million, to be awarded this spring.

The nationwide pool of semifinalists represents less than 1 percent of U.S. high school seniors and includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state. These seniors must submit a scholarship application that includes an outstanding academic record, a recommendation from schools, an essay, and SAT scores than confirm the results of the earlier test.

In addition to scholarships awarded by the non-profit National Merit organization, about 1,000 corporate-sponsored awards and an additional 3,900 college-sponsored awards will be chosen, according to the group.

National Merit Scholarship winners will be announced between April and July of 2016. 
Published Print